Flight news: International passenger flight suspension extended till August 31

Flight news: The Director-General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) has further extended the ban on international flights. As per the earlier announcement, the ban on international commercial flights to and from India was ending on July 31. The ban is now extended till August 31.

The international travel ban has been once again extended from its previous deadline of July 31, 2021, in the wake of the rising cases of the Delta variant of coronavirus in various countries.

Aviation regulator Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) in a circular issued Friday, July 30, said the international flight’s ban shall remain in place till 2359 hrs IST of August 31, 2021. However, it is not applicable to cargo flights and those approved by the DGCA.

“This restriction shall not apply to international all-cargo operations and flights specifically approved by DGCA. However. International scheduled flights may be allowed on select routes by the competent authority on a case to case basis” the circular noted.

International flight news: India has formed air bubble pacts with 27 countries, including the US, the UK, the UAE, Kenya, Bhutan, and France. Under an air bubble pact between two countries, special international flights can be operated by their airlines between their territories.

India’s Ministry of Civil Aviation (MoCA) signed bilateral air bubble agreements with over 28 countries for the movement of eligible citizens in the wake of Covid restrictions. India signed mutual pacts with Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Canada, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Iraq, Japan, Kenya, Kuwait, Maldives, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America and Uzbekistan.

As part of the Vande Bharat mission, Air India will operate flights from Delhi to Malé via Mumbai every Wednesday and Saturday, starting from July 28. The airline will also fly from Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala to Malé every Monday and Thursday, starting from July 29.

The Maldives reopened its borders for travellers from south Asian countries such as India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka, from July 15, 2021.

Meanwhile, Air India Express, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Air India, has announced flights between India and Kuala Lumpur from August. The airline will connect Trichy, Bengaluru, Kochi, Hyderabad, Vijayawada, and Chennai with Kuala Lumpur. Bookings for these flights are open in Air India’s website and call centers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *